About Us

The Hackettstown Recreation Commission was established by ordinance in 1948 by the Town Council. The Commission is comprised of seven member, which are appointed by the Mayor for a five-year term. The Commission is responsible for planning, organizing and administering our comprehensive recreational services. All resident tax payers are welcome to attend and participate in meetings. Suggestions are encouraged.

Department programming includes:

  • Active: Various sports programs listed on this webpage.
  • Non-Active: Programs at the Community and Senior Centers.
  • Pool Complex: A separate, self-supporting facility that is available to resident taxpayers and non-resident taxpayers.

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
Joseph Yapaola Director (908) 852-4095

Commission Members

Name Title
Robert Salus Chairperson
Jim Macaulay Member
Frank Galka Member
Brian Feeney Member
Bill Baker Member
John Mandick Vice Chairperson
Jim Pangallo Member